WHAT IT’S LIKE TO JUMP OUT OF A PLANE

I’m scared of heights.

 

But for some reason, when I moved to New Zealand I felt compelled to conquer this fear. Not once, but twice. The first time was 140ft up when I decided it would be a good idea to bungee jump off a bridge. Don’t ask how I managed to do this–let’s just leave it at an abnormality. But hey, I could say I conquered my fear of heights and left it at that.

That is, until my mom visited me earlier this year. Skydiving has long been on her bucket list and was the number one thing she wanted to do in New Zealand.

It was 90% peer pressure and 10%FOMO (fear of missing out), but I somehow re-conquered my fear of heights from 13,000ft and jumped out of a plane.

DCIM100GOPROG0022143.

Despite the photographic evidence you are about to see below, this feat did not come easily. There were sleepless nights before the big jump, a couple hundred tears shed and a lot of fidgeting and walking like a maniac in circles before getting suited up.

 

This was my face when I was told we were only at 5,000ft…..

DCIM100GOPROG0042150.

And when we finally reached 13,000ft I started screaming….

DCIM100GOPROG0052162.

and didn’t stop….

DCIM100GOPROG0052170.

but then the screams switched from pure fear to pure joy….

DCIM100GOPROG0052194.

because the views were absolutely insane…

DCIM100GOPROG0052185.

and when the free-fall finally finished, I could barely contain my emotions (I mean there were waterfall of tears….but tears of joy none the less!)

DCIM100GOPROG0052218.

and then the real fun started when I was given control of the parachute…. I didn’t expect it to go quite so fast though!

DCIM100GOPROG0062257.

DCIM100GOPROG0062266.DCIM100GOPROG0062272.

The endorphin rush was like none that I have ever experienced and the feeling of flying over paradise will leave you speechless (*It took me 5 min to catch my breath and start talking again….but I think that was because I used all my oxygen screaming the whole way down)

DCIM100GOPROG0072282.

Thanks Mom! X

Leave a Reply

